Fund Types

4 Reporting

4.3 Fund Financial Statements

4.3.1 Fund Types The financial statements for governmental funds should report a separate column for each individual major fund, with data from all non-major governmental funds aggregated into a single Other Non-Major Governmental Funds column, regardless of fund type.

There are three basic types of funds: governmental, proprietary, and fiduciary. The governmental fund type consists of:

  1. General Fund
  2. Special Revenue Funds
  3. Debt Service Funds
  4. Capital Project Funds
  5. Permanent Funds The proprietary fund type consists of:

  1. Enterprise Funds
  2. Internal Service Funds

Although, the internal service fund is classified as a proprietary fund type (and has to be reported as such in the funds financial statements), they should be included as part of the Governmental Activities in the government-wide financial statements unless its predominant customers are external entities or enterprise funds, then they would be reported in the Business-Type Activities column. For more details about the internal service funds see Internal Service Funds. The fiduciary funds are limited to account for resources that are not available to support governments’ operations and programs. This fund type consists of:

  1. Private-Purpose Trust Funds
  2. Pension (and Other Employee Benefit) Trust Funds
  3. Investment Trust Funds
  4. Custodial Funds (if the custodial fund holds the amounts for other funds of the government, these amounts should be reported in the appropriate funds)

For detailed description of funds see Fund Types and Accounting Principles.